L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Huge maps in Sapphire

Important stuff.

Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Aaron » Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:18 pm

Hi All,

In the latest build of L3DT Professional (v12.03 build 2) you will find some major improvements to the Sapphire 3D renderer, including:
  • Faster startup,
  • higher frame rates,
  • lower memory usage, and;
  • Support for much larger maps.
If you’re interested, you can read all about the changes in this blog post. Please reply to this thread for feedback, questions, comments, bug reports and et cetera.

Cheerio,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Stem » Sat Mar 24, 2012 2:23 am

Hi Aaron,

With this new build, there is a problem when starting a new "Blank Hight-map".
Using default setting, when entering Sapphire, L3DT crashes with faulting module sapphire.zeo

edit to add:-
It is crashing in sapphire even with other maps, as soon as I start the Height-field tools.

Setup:-
Win7 64
Nvidia GTX 460 : Driver 296.10

Regards,

- Stem
Stem
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:49 pm

Re: Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Aaron » Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:43 am

Hi Stem,

Thank you for reporting this bug. I'll look into it right away.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Telarus » Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:43 am

I am also experiencing crashes of L3DT every time I try to use the height-field editing tools. Good speed improvements when navigating large meshes, tho!
Telarus
Doyen
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 12:34 am

Re: Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Aaron » Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:57 pm

Hi Stem and Telarus,

I apologise for this fault, and thank you again for reporting it. The fix is included with L3DT Pro v12.03 build 3, which is on the downloads page now.

This problem was caused by brush tool coordinates not being bounds checked before reading from map memory. Previously this was handled by L3DT via the plugin API, but in the latest build of Sapphire I bypassed some of the plugin API functions to improve rendering speed, including (unfortunately and inadvertently) the coordinate checking. I have now added bounds checking to the appropriate places in Sapphire.

Please let me know if you find any other problems.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Huge maps in Sapphire

Postby Stem » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:41 pm

Hi Aaron,

No need to apologize (certainly not to me), it is a dev build.

Bug is fixed.
The speed improvements are looking really very good. Very nice work.

Regards,

- Stem
Stem
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:49 pm


Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron