L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

WOW

Any and all chit-chat regarding L3DT.

WOW

Postby bigkahuna » Wed May 24, 2006 6:22 pm

I'm brand new to L3DT, just downloaded the 2.4 beta 2, ran the walkthrough tutorial (nicely done) and all I can say is "WOW". I love it. I sent my email in for the Pro demo and my PayPal account has $25 set aside to buy it when it's ready... ;)

I'm a "serious games" developer and have a project or two I might be able to use L3DT with. What I want to be able to do is either take DEM terrain info or create a high res terrain by hand, and bring it into my game engine(s). Unfortunately, I'm not using Torque so I'm going to have to figure out how to get these terrains into the engines I am using.

One question for now: Can I export a color bitmap of the texturemap (with lightmap)? The engines I'm using don't support mosaic maps.

Thanks,

Paul
bigkahuna

Postby Joshua » Wed May 24, 2006 7:12 pm

Whether or not you're using Torque isn't a problem at all. Mosiac maps are optional up to a certain size, so if your engine does not support them simply don't use them.

You can export the diffuse textures with or without lightmapped information baked in, into several file formats, so you shouldn't have a problem finding one you can get into your engine.
Joshua
Luminary

Postby bigkahuna » Wed May 24, 2006 7:24 pm

Thanks for the reply Joshua. I'm having a hard time finding where/how to export a single diffuse map (with or without lightmap). I'll dig around a bit more, but any hints in the mean time? Thanks!
bigkahuna

Postby Joshua » Wed May 24, 2006 7:43 pm

Well first you need to actually generate the maps, but after that just do:

View => Show Map => Texture Map

File => Export => Active Map

And set the settings to bitmap.
Joshua
Luminary

Postby bigkahuna » Wed May 24, 2006 7:59 pm