L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

New guy searching for solutions

Any and all chit-chat regarding L3DT.

New guy searching for solutions

Postby whtemple1959 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:38 am

Hello,

First and foremost I must admit I am not an artist or a programmer.

I found L3DT while searching for solutions for a project I want to see come to fruition. The thing that caught my eye was at the in the showcase images there was an exact example of 1 of the 3 tasks I need in my project. That is a bulldoze feature. I also need a tunneling and a bridging function.

Now I have no idea what I am doing so my learning curve is straight up. But, I I am attempting to create a game in which the player travels the globe exploring geographical, historical, and man made icons. I got the idea for watching Dinosaur Train, Curious George, and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse with my 3 year old son.

For those unfamiliar with them. Dinosaur train takes a family of Pterodactyls with their adopted T-Rex through time tunnels to different periods to learn about that period, Mickey Mouse's Choo Choo Train manages to build it's track as it travels, and of course Curious George is just curious. For example. If Tristan leaves our home town of Columbus, Ohio and heads west toward the Grand Canyon he first comes to the Mississippi river where he will find a marker which will open a Wiki in a browser to tell him about the river, he will then build a bridge and travel to St Louis where he will find a marker to teach him about St Louis., and so on until he reaches the Grand Canyon. Or maybe he will go East and get on a boat to Europe. Or maybe go through a time tunnel/chunnel/portal to visit a time and place in history.