Page 1 of 1

having issues exporting to Torque3d

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:43 am
by DragoFire
For some reason every time I try to export to Torque3d I get errors.

here's the last attempt;

Code: Select all
L3DTio_TorqueTER::SaveMaterialCS error:
 - cannot open 'D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\art\terrains\materials.cs' for writing

L3DTio_TorqueTER::ExportTER7 error:
 - cannot save material CS

L3DTio_TorqueTER::ExtExportTer7UI error:
 - TER export failed

CL3DTio_BackupApp::InitEditRecord error:
 - edit record is already initialised

CL3DTio_BackupApp::InitEditRecord error:
 - edit record is already initialised

L3DTio_TorqueTER::SaveMaterialCS error:
 - cannot open 'D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\art\terrains\materials.cs' for writing

L3DTio_TorqueTER::ExportTER7 error:
 - cannot save material CS

L3DTio_TorqueTER::ExtExportTer7UI error:
 - TER export failed


Please not this is on Windows 10 Pro.

Re: having issues exporting to Torque3d

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 10:48 am
by Aaron
Hi DragoFire,

I apologise for this error. Unfortunately, I didn't make the plugin record why it couldn't open the file for writing (I have fixed this for the next build). My best guesses would be:
  1. The file is already open in another editor or opened by Torque3D, or;
  2. The folder 'D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\art\terrains' doesn't exist (I've also changed the plugin in the next build so that it creates the folder if it doesn't exist).
So my questions for you are:
  1. Does that folder exist?
  2. If it does exist, does it contain a file called 'materials.cs'?
  3. If that file exists, can you temporarily rename the file (e.g. to 'materials2.cs') to see if the file is already locked by another process?

Best regards,
Aaron.

Re: having issues exporting to Torque3d

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:47 am
by DragoFire
Does that folder exist?
yes;
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\project\game\art\terrains

If it does exist, does it contain a file called 'materials.cs'?
Yes file exists, not read-only or locked in any form.

If that file exists, can you temporarily rename the file (e.g. to 'materials2.cs') to see if the file is already locked by another process?[/list]

Can do, though Torque3D wasn't running at time L3DT was running.

Re: having issues exporting to Torque3d

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:50 am
by Aaron
Hi DragoFire,

You said this folder exists:

Code: Select all
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\project\game\art\terrains


...and the folder in the screenshot you've shown is:

Code: Select all
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\RedlineIT\game\art\terrains

(which is different)

...but the plugin was actually trying to write the CS file to this folder:

Code: Select all
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\art\terrains

(different again)

What this says to me is that the game folder in the T3D exporter window is not set correctly. Please set it to:

Code: Select all
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\RedlineIT\game


And be sure that you export the TER file into this folder:

Code: Select all
D:\Torque\Torque 3D 1.2\My Projects\RedlineIT\game\art\terrains


Please let me know how it goes.

Best regards,
Aaron.