Page 1 of 1

Raw File error in Torque

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:39 am
by Madcowthomas
ok this error got me puzzled


AtlasOldHeightmap::loadRaw16 - unexpected file size is too small.

Well it continues with more but that is the basic. Tried 2 maps one that is a 1024 and a 4096 and receive the same error.

This my code for the 1024 map.

atlasOldGenerateChunkFileFromRaw16(
"terrain_water_demo/data/terrains/heightmap.raw",
1024, 1.0, 0.0017,
"terrain_water_demo/data/terrains/geometry.chu",
1, 2);

The raw file is a 16bit?



Tried using the torque plugin but believe there got be more that needs to be exported. Is there a tutorial that explains little more in depth?

Any suggestions is most welcome ...Thanks in advanced for any help.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:30 pm
by Madcowthomas
Received some information on the raw files and this what found out

.RAW file 'Properties'.
The 'Size:' should be 2,101,250 bytes which is 1025 x 1025 x 2.

If the size is 1,050,625 then it is 1025 x 1025 (the right size) but only 8 bits.
If the size is 2,097,152 then it is 1024 x 1024 (the wrong size) but 16 bits(right bit size).
If the size is 1,048,576 then it is 1024 x 1024 (the wrong size) and only 8 bits.


So test the L3DT here at work just to get a idea before get home tonight and look at my file. When get home tonight will post the findings on the raw files there.

Well the raw file here is 2.00 MB (2,097,152 bytes) so from the information above is telling this is a wrong size file.

Arron can you tell me what I'm doing wrong here when saving the raw file?

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:36 pm
by Madcowthomas
Occupation: Evil scientist
Interests: Global domination, Danish pastries


Awesome Arron! Lol

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 5:17 pm
by demi
Maybe you are saving in the wrong format. Not sure which format it is since I haven't messed with TEA since July of last year. Check what format the raw needs to be.

Demi

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 5:58 pm
by Madcowthomas
Think might solve the problem , wont know for sure until I get home this evening.

When exporting the raw file need to check the "resize for export" and change it too 1025

That changed the file size to 2.00 MB (2,101,250 bytes)

Anyone that works in TGEA can you confirm this is correct method of how suppose to export the map?

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 9:42 pm
by Aaron
Hi Madcowthomas,

Madcowthomas wrote:When exporting the raw file need to check the "resize for export" and change it too 1025

...

Anyone that works in TGEA can you confirm this is correct method of how suppose to export the map?


Yes, that's what Trollfiddler said in his TGEA tutorial (step 4, under "Exporting the heightfield"). Wiki to the rescue!

Cheers,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 9:55 pm
by Madcowthomas
Rofl, using this other tutorial that one my team members found on the TGEA engine. Some reason didn't think check the tutorials here .....well rofl

Thanks Arron and everyone that help me.

Many props to you Arron on you fine product here!