L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Some artefacts in the Lightmap

Please report software faults here.

Some artefacts in the Lightmap

Postby Qbound » Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:25 am

Hi Aaron,

in my Lightmap i have found some Artefacts. Because of the high calculation time i will start the recalculation tonight.

Here are the Artefacts. They look like a Mem/Pagingproblem because of the shape of a quad.

Image
Image

The parameters from the map are:
Size: 8192*8192
LMOversampling: 8
TXOversampling: 4
Paging: enabled

System: AMD FX57 / 2Gig DualRam / 2*7800GTX / 600GB SATA2 / WinXP

Greetings,
Oliver
Qbound
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Germany

Postby Aaron » Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:43 pm

Hi Oliver,

Thanks for the bug report. I agree; this definitely looks like a mosaic-map problem (possibly a bug in the unify-scales routine). I'm trying to reproduce this now...

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Aaron » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:05 pm

Hello again,

A few questions:

- Were shadows enabled in the light map calc?
- Did you edit or view any of the files in the heightfield mosaic?

Cheers,
Aaron
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Qbound » Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:55 pm

Hi Aaron,

- Yes the shadows were enabled
- No... the only thing i did, was heavy coding in Visual Studio

bye, Oliver
Qbound
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Germany

Postby Aaron » Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:18 am

Hi Oliver,

My test-run last night on an 8kx8k HF with 64kx64k LM didn't show up anything unusual. Can you send me the .mgf, .def and .dmf files for this map please? (aaron.torpy@yahoo.com preferred).

My thought was that this is a problem with the scaling on tiles in either the heightfield or the water-map. If there was a problem in the heightfield, it would have produced anomalous shadows (which it didn't seem to do). That leaves the water-map as the suspect.

In L3DT can you enable the ‘View->Display effects->Draw mosaic tiles’ option and take another screen-cap of the light-map? This will show-up whether the blocks are lined-up with light-map tiles, or with water-map tiles.

Also, can you load the map in L3DTVi2 and find one of these areas? It would be nice to see what is happening in 3D.

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Qbound » Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:41 pm

Hi Aaron,

at the beginning of the week i had to reinstall my computer this is the reason why i answer so late. The problems could be some kind of problem with my system. I lost a great bunch of data incl. the map. _sorry_
I had some trouble with the software raid. Now they are solved and i run a 32k*32k map. If there is a problem with the system or the software it might show up in this map, but it will take some time. (3-5days)

I am very pleased about your professional reaction on errors and problems in your program.

Great support very professional.
Greetings Oliver
Qbound
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Germany


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron