L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Water Flooding bug

Please report software faults here.

Water Flooding bug

Postby mauronen » Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:45 am

Hi Aaron.
I'm sorry for my long absence but, due of my work (12-14 hours of work at day from April to now), i couldn't see news on L3DT. I've downloaded L3DT beta 3 just 2 days ago and i've tried to test with follows parameter:
Code: Select all
8192 x 8192
(just to try with a huge map in memory)

But when i attempt to generate Water Flooding with follows parameter (that are the default, i suppose):

Code: Select all
Page 1/2
- Clear existing WM = unchecked
- Flood water plane = unchecked
- Auto-flood sea = checked
- Auto-flood lakes = checked
- Calculate water-table = checked
Page 2/2
- nlter = 2
- ClearWtableBeforeCalc = false
- Wtable
   - MaxDepth = 100.00000
   - RiseParam = 0.80000
   - FallParam = 0.960000
   - LossParam = 5.000000
- Salin
   - EnableFlag = true
   - LossParam = 5.000000
   - GradExpon = 0.050000
   - LakeLoss = 0
   - Tolerance = 5.00000e-004


i've received following errors:

Code: Select all
CMapGroup::WM_FloodAll error:
 - Call to WM_Floodlakes failed

CSubMap::InitMap error:
 - calloc failed to allocate 512MB of RAM (insufficient system memory?)

CMapWrap::InitMap error
 - cannot allocate SubMap

CMapWrap::GetPixel error
 - map not initialised

CMapGroup::WM_FloodSea error
 - cannot get pixel

CMapGroup::WM_FloodAll error:
 - Call to WM_FloodSea failed


During test the allocated memory is 462Mb of 1024Mb (i think that 562Mb is enough)

I've tried to "play" changing Water Flooding setting, but i've ever received same error or any of similar type (at my eyes). Particularly, when i've checked all (in first page) L3DT seems to loop with follows:

Code: Select all
CMapGroup: WM_FloodLake error
 - TestWM not initialized


During this "loop" L3DT permits to save works, but apparently it's impossible to stop error log.
User avatar
mauronen
Doyen
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Rome

Postby Aaron » Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:56 am

Hi Mauro,

To flood water on an 8192x8192 heightfield takes 1.13 gigabytes of RAM*. The heightfield is 256Mb, the water-map is 512Mb and a flood-test map is another 512Mb. It's the last map that is failing to allocate here, giving the errors you observe.

For flooding a map of this size, I recommend you split the heighfield into a mosaic (operations->active map->split to mosaic). This will drop the RAM requirement for the calculation to around 160Mb. Afterwards, if you want the heightfield in a single file, you can use 'operations->active map->combine mosaic'.

Cheers,
Aaron.

* I guess I should have written that somewhere in the flood dialog or the documentation!
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby mauronen » Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:22 am

Hi Aaron.
I've tried the same operation with my Beleriand map.
Same behaviour.
Each tile has 512x512.

Cheers
User avatar
mauronen
Doyen
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Rome

Postby Aaron » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:51 am

Hi Mauro,

Could you please send me a copy of the '.proj' and '.def.xml' files for your Beleriand map so that I can check some settings? My e-mail is aaron@bundysoft.com.

Regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Aaron » Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:10 pm

Hi Mauro,

Thanks for the files. According to the project file for the Beleriand map, the heightfield is saved as a single file, not as a mosaic. If you select the heightfield (view->show map->heightfield), then split it into a mosaic (operations->active map->split to mosaic), the water-flooding operations *should* then work without running into RAM problems.

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby mauronen » Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:43 am

Thanks Aaron.
I'll try to split HM into mosaic.

Cheers.
Mauro.
User avatar
mauronen
Doyen
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Rome


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests

cron