Page 1 of 1

L3DT 2.4a rev 18

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 7:07 pm
by mauronen
Hi Aaron

Me again, your nightmare :D .

1) Import > Design Map (file size 1025 x 1025)
a) specify DM size = 128 x 128 (maximum allowed without disk-drive paging)
2) I left all settings to maximum allowed without disk-drive paging
3) After a while appears this:
Code: Select all
L3DT_GetMemState error:
 - cannot initialise performance monitor

L3DT_GetMemState error:
 - cannot initialise performance monitor

GetMemStateStr error:
 - cannot get mem state

CSubMap::InitMap error:
 - insufficient memory to allocate 512MB of RAM
 - current state: SYSERROR

CMapWrap::InitMap error
 - cannot allocate SubMap

CMapGroup::WM_ClearTests error:
 - call to AutoInitTestWM failed

CMapGroup::WM_FloodSea error
 - call to WM_ClearTests failed

CMapGroup::WM_FloodAll error:
 - Call to WM_FloodSea failed



Now my laptop has 2048 MB and, when L3DT start, Task Manager signs 200MB occupied.

Cheers.

Mauro.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:26 pm
by Aaron
Hi Mauro,

I recommend you use a mosaic heightfield. Windows is refusing to allocate a contiguous 512MB block of memory (at that point, L3DT also has another 768MB tied up on the heightfield and water map). It could be memory fragmentation, I don't know. A too-low page file size also affects this, believe it or not. Operating systems never report why they haven't allocated memory, they just return null pointers. The upshot? I don't think there is anything I can do to fix this, other than to say "please use a mosaic map". Sorry.

Hmmm....I've fixed that error message too.

Best regards,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 6:44 pm
by mauronen
Hi Aaron.

Maybe this is the wrong place (better in Features request), but i don't want to open another topic that talks of the same thing.

Each time that i start the Calculate task i forget Windows memory allocation limitation. Just yesterday, after 3 hour or calculation, it 's appeared again same message (not 512MB but 768MB).

It would possible to avoid to start the task, catching in advance this condition (something like the warning about 'Apply bump mapping' checked twice in Normal map and Light map)?

Cheers.

Mauro

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:41 pm
by Aaron
Hi Mauro,

That's a good suggestion. It's (quite) bit more difficult than the other warnings, but I'm sure it can be done, probably in v2.4c or v2.5.

Cheers,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:53 am
by Aaron
Hi Mauro,

One more thing - the latest dev build (v2.4.1.23) has much lower memory requirements during the flooding routine now. I forced one of the temporary maps to be always a mosaic, which saves around 8 bytes/pixel (or 512Mb of RAM on an 8k x 8k map).

On the down-side, I can't guarantee that build 23 is entirely bug-free. There have been some major changes to the file I/O code, with HFF and all image formats now handled through plugins. I've fixed all the bugs I've found, of course, but there's a chance some have got through.

Cheers,
Aaron.