Page 1 of 1

bug with alpha map generation

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 6:00 pm
by jsw
Hi Aaron,
I've got another bug for you. I'm running the 2.4b stable release.
The problem is with alpha map generation. When there are less that 8
alpha layers (so all 8 channels don't need to be filled in the
2 alpha maps), it appears that the output alpha maps are getting
the information in the wrong channels. The xml indicates that
the 2nd alpha map should be using only the red and green channels.
It appears that the output png files actually have the green and blue
channels populated.

Let me know if you need me to send an example.

--Jeff

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:51 am
by Aaron
Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the bug report. The dev build from the 26th of October fixed this bug, but it appears that my e-mail reply to you disappeared into the ether. The problem was that the FreeImage library that I use for image handling expects data in BGRA order, and I was passing it in RGBA order. I had fixed this previously for 24-bit images, but had forgotten to apply this to 32-bit images. It should work correctly now.

Thanks for your patience.

Best regards,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 4:01 am
by jsw
Thanks for the response Aaron. I checked my spam folder, and it didn't have the missing message, so I have no idea what might have happened to it.

--Jeff

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:11 am
by Hypnotron
CL3DTio_FIApp::LoadTileFile error
- Unsupported format 'Al'

CExtDLL::LoadTileFile error
- call to DLL function 'LoadTileFile' failed

CMosaicMap::LoadSubMap error
- call to format-specific LoadSubMap failed for file 'C:\share\lux\16x16km256x256pages\AM\lux_AM_x56y8.png'

CMosaicMap::PrepareSubMap error
- cannot load sub map

CMosaicMap::GetPixel error
- cannot prepare sub map for pixel not in memory

calc_TX_GetSpatTextureList error
- GetPixel failed for AM

calc_TX_GetSpatTextureList error
- Calculation aborted prematurely

calc_TX_GetSpatTextureList error
- Attributes map is busy


I got the following error when trying to generate alpha maps during the "generating texture list" dialog. My map is a 256x256 tile mosaic using the temperate climate. Took a very long time to get to that stage and having it fail at the final gen of the alphamaps = :evil:

think ill try again with a tiny mosaic next...

p.s. this is with Release no: 2.4b Rev. 8
Build date: 26-Oct-06

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:38 pm
by Hypnotron
Just a quick update. Seems like shutting down l3dt and re-loading the project as saved thus far is working. I mean it's generating the alphamaps for the map that failed at that point last time.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:57 pm
by Aaron
Hi Hypnotron,

Thanks for the bug report. I've found the intermittent fault in the plugin, and I'll upload a corrected release shortly. I apologise for the inconvenience.

Best regards,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:09 pm
by Aaron
Hello Hypnotron,

I've uploaded v2.4.2.9 (6 Nov), which should fix this problem. Please let me know if you find otherwise.

Best regards,
Aaron.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 11:36 pm
by Hypnotron
Ok. I will try it out. In the mean time i did get the following errors and i'm not sure if they are related. The following errors came up during the attribute map generation. The map is 32x32 mosaic tiles with each hightmap tile 1024x1024 pixels using 1 meter pixel resolution.

CMosaicMap::HF_UnifyMosaicScale error
-GetTileMinMaxAlt returned a range of 0 for tile 420

CMosaicMap::HF_UnifyMosaicScale error
-GetTileMinMaxAlt returned a range of 0 for tile 421

CMosaicMap::HF_UnifyMosaicScale error
-GetTileMinMaxAlt returned a range of 0 for tile 765

It still seemed to finish however. Then during the alphamap layer generation (saving to 1bit png's) i got the following:

CL3DTio_FIApp::SaveTileFile error
- Unsupported format 'Pro'

CExtDLL::SaveTileFile error
- call to DLL function 'SaveTileFile' failed

CMosaicMap::SaveSubMap error
- call to format-specific SaveSubMap failed

The process seemed to finish, but obviously getting the errors makes it unsettling.

-Mike

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:23 am
by Aaron
Hi Mike,

The latter errors are the same as found previously, and fixed in the latest update. The former errors will be fixed in the next one.

Best regards,
Aaron.