L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

A small suggestion

Please report software faults here.

A small suggestion

Postby EagleEye » Tue Oct 30, 2007 3:46 pm

When editing a text box where a number is supposed to be, if you try deleting the entire old value before putting in a new value, it says "Please enter an integer" in a msgbox pop up.

I find this rather annoying, to have to enter at least part of the new value before deleting the last digit of the previous value.

Now, I'm assuming you're programming using event handlers here, where the "on change" event handler checks to ensure that the value is an integer, and if not, it pops up the msgbox.

If so, you could easily change it to check the "onlostfocus" event handler instead. That way, if the box is cleared, but still has focus, it won't pop up the error. It will only pop up the error if you clear the box and then tab or click out of the box. This allows the user to clear the previous value before entering a new one.

Basically, in that onlostfocus event handler, simply check if the value is an integer, if not, set focus back to the text box and pop up the error. If it is an integer, do nothing.
EagleEye
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:54 am

Postby EagleEye » Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:30 pm

Sorry, wrong forum... this should probably be in the feature requests forum.
EagleEye
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:54 am

Postby Aaron » Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:20 pm

Hi EagleEye,

Thanks for the suggestion. This is MFC's automatic data validation at play, via calls to UpdateData. Whenever possible, I've been replacing these automatic validation checks with my own (quiet) validation checks, which won't pop warnings until you click OK/Next/etc. However, I haven't converted all dialog boxes yet. Can you tell me which ones are causing you grief?

Cheerio.
Aaron.

PS: Thread moved to 'bug reports'
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby EagleEye » Tue Oct 30, 2007 8:41 pm

aaron wrote:Hi EagleEye,

Thanks for the suggestion. This is MFC's automatic data validation at play, via calls to UpdateData. Whenever possible, I've been replacing these automatic validation checks with my own (quiet) validation checks, which won't pop warnings until you click OK/Next/etc. However, I haven't converted all dialog boxes yet. Can you tell me which ones are causing you grief?

Cheerio.
Aaron.

PS: Thread moved to 'bug reports'


When creating a new map, all of the boxes (X, Y, and Tile Size)

And I think every single Wizard box that pops up... like when you specify any of the sizes...
EagleEye
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:54 am

Postby Aaron » Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:17 pm

Hi EagleEye,

Okay, I've added this to the dev plan for v2.6, and checked through the wizards and made the following list:
  • Design map size wizard - X/Y/TileSize broken (Horiz scale is OK)
  • Light map wizard - Direction/elevation broken (brightness is OK)
  • Light mapping (#2) wizard - Tile size and res are broken
  • Light/water effects wizard - Periodic for X/Y/Z/TxCoeff
  • Texture map wizard - Texture res and tile size.
  • Alpha map options wizard - Res and tile size
  • Import design map - Sample rate, tile size, DM size
  • Mosaic map settings - Tile size broken
Wizards that were OK include:
  • Algorithms wizard - All OK (no edit boxes)
  • Design map params wizard - All OK (no edit boxes)
  • Calc queue wizard - All OK (no edit boxes)
  • Water flooding wizard - All OK (Water level is only edit box, and it's OK)
  • Water table modelling wizard - All OK (all custom controls)
  • Attributes map calc wizard - All OK (res and tile size edit)
  • Terrain normals calc wizard - All OK (same as attrib map)
  • Open wizard - All OK
  • Import wizard - All OK
  • Heightfield import options wizard - All OK
  • Combine alpha layers wizard - All OK (all custom controls)
The last time I checked, the climate editor and the brush tools were OK, but I could be wrong. Anyway, if there are any other dialogs you'd like to add to the to-be-fixed list, please let me know.

Cheerio,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron