L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Humble Suggestions...

It doesn't hurt to ask...

Humble Suggestions...

Postby ejgodwin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:29 pm

Being new here, I don't want to sound greedy. I'm fully aware of the huge effort to make these changes, as I'm a programmer myself. And bear in mind that there's probably something I haven't discovered yet that might solve some of the issues I'm facing.

My goal here is to create a 3D version of a map I've created for a novel I'm publishing later this year. I'd like to explore the possibility of generating realistic scenes and even animations to help promote my book or enrich the reading experience. (Not sure yet how practical this will be, I just thought it might be cool.)

With that in mind, I've created a huge L3DT map with a detailed horizontal scale: 6400 x 4864 x 114. It equates to about 750km in width, and currently takes up over 100MB on disk. I've got the basic elevations in place, using Photoshop and gray scales from the original map. I can't really use anything but the heightfield map, at least not yet, as my world is already "designed", so to speak, and the specifics of the plot rely heavily on existing geographic features. So at this point I spend most of my time in Sapphire to get the details right. Because of it's size, there are a few things that are slowing down my progress, and I have a few suggestions that might improve this. Again, keep in mind that I might be missing a better way to accomplish this.

1) An ability to turn off the refresh of the heightfield when I exit Sapphire (or at least the ability to save the project from within it). I'm a big believer in frequently saving my changes, and it's a bit frustrating to wait for the screen to refresh or to cancel it just to save to disk. It often takes close to 30 seconds for the refresh, especially if I have my existing map as an image drape. (I have a 4-core AMD with 10gb of memory.)