L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Need help getting hightmap in correctly.

Got a problem or need advice?

Need help getting hightmap in correctly.

Postby Servo » Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:47 pm

I am trying to get in a gray scale hightmap of the world in and parts of the terrain import ok but I’m not sure what setting to correct to get it in ok since when importing it asks for max high and lows and so on..
This is the height map image reduced in size to be able to post it here.

And this is the PNG file
http://www.interceptorshield.com/DEM/EarthDEM2160.png

Could someone maybe take a look and let me know what I need to do to get it in proper into L3DT. I could really use a little advice on this since I'm really new to useing L3DT.
Servo
Contributing member

Postby Aaron » Thu Nov 20, 2008 9:48 pm

Hi Servo,

You should use these settings:
  • Horizontal scale: 9276 metres (determined by circumference of earth and number of pixels in image)
  • Min. alt: -10900 metres (depth of Challenger deep in Marianas Trench)
  • Max. alt: 8848 metres (height of Mt. Everest)

You'll also have to manually adjust the sea-level after you import the map. This is because the spatial resolution of the map is a little too coarse to accurately set the altitude range based on the extents above. To do this, go to 'Operations->Heightfield->Change vert. scale' in the menu, and setting the '% above sea-level' value to 31. These settings put the sea-level to within about 10 to 20 metres of where it should be (see below). If you're after super-accuracy, you can tweak it a little more by increasing or decreasing the 'average altitude' setting in the vertical scale dialog.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Aaron.