L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Has anyone had this error before?

Got a problem or need advice?

Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Spookygnu » Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:02 pm

I have been teaching a friend of mine L3dt and how to use it for editing terrain etc. Last night I set him off and he was having loads of fun editing and working on his terrain but when he came to load up his project today his HF would not load in the project.

here is his error.

Code: Select all
 SetActiveFormatFor error
 - Cannot find file extension 'hfz' for 'HF' (type 20)
CMapGroup::LoadMapFile2 error:
 - cannot get assumed format var for file 'fallujahHF_HF.hfz'
CMapGroup::AutoLoadMap error:
 - cannot load map file 'I:\JUNK\Fal_old\fallujahHF_HF.hfz'


can anyone advise on what might have caused it?
Spookygnu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:24 pm

Re: Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Aaron » Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:07 pm

Hi Spookygnu,

It looks like the HFZ plugin has failed to load. Go to 'Extensions->Extensions manager' and turn it back on. If that doesn't solve the problem, please send me the log file (to aaron@bundysoft.com). It's on disk at:

C:\Users\[user name]\L3DT\logs\[version]\log.txt

With the log file, I will be able to work out what is going wrong. Please collect the log file after the fault occurs in L3DT, and before re-opening the program, as the log file is overwritten at the start of each session.

Best regards,
Aaron
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Spookygnu » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:53 pm

The plugin had turned off somehow. It worked turning it back on. He's back in business and rebuilding fallujah.

thanks Aaron
Spookygnu
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:24 pm

Re: Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Saxtone » Sat Jan 21, 2017 7:01 am

Spookygnu wrote:The plugin had turned off somehow. It worked turning it back on. He's back in with https://www.agilebuddy.com/lean-belly-b ... nd-results the lean belly breakthrough business and rebuilding fallujah.

thanks Aaron


Same thing happened to me. Strange.
Last edited by Saxtone on Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Saxtone
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:52 am

Re: Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Aaron » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:44 pm

Hi Saxtone,

I'm sorry for the delay.

This fault can occur if an L3DT process crashes or is terminated during the loading of a plugin. This is to protect against a 'bad' plugin stopping L3DT from starting up, but it has the risk that if something else causes L3DT to exit during the loading of a plugin, then that plugin will get blamed for the problem and be disabled the next time the process loads. I'll have a bit of a thinker about a better mechanism to achieve this, but at the moment I'm inclined to stick with the status quo, as these sorts of problems seem quite rare (annoying as it is). Thank you for the bug report.

Kind regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Has anyone had this error before?

Postby Freyders » Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:05 pm

Spookygnu wrote:The plugin had turned off somehow. It worked turning it back on. He's back in business and rebuilding fallujah.

thanks Aaron


Same thing happened to me. Strange.
Freyders
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:01 pm


Return to Help and support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron