L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

For Torque 3D users

Important stuff.

Postby Aaron » Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:37 am

Sent!
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Aaron » Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:34 pm

Hi Guys,

It was just reported by PM that there is a minor bug in the 'T3D Material Manager' window. When you make changes to the second material in the list, the changes will be lost if you select another material from the list. To make changes to the second material, you have to edit this material last, and then press the 'OK' button. Alternatively, you can edit the material manually, or in T3D.

A fix will be included in the next update.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Torque X 3D

Postby amazingpunk » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:07 pm

Hi Arron,

Another torquey!

Please send me the plugin link,


Thank you :D
amazingpunk
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:02 pm

Postby Aaron » Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:42 pm

Sent!
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby rstralberg » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:49 pm

@kerry

I saw you fantastic result here.
Could you tell your L3DT and T3D values?

I tried and tried and all my terrains becomes
either jagged or has terrible blurred looking textures.

It would be a really good help for me (and maybe others)
to know how to achieve such good results.

Thank's
Roland
User avatar
rstralberg
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden

Postby holger » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:20 am

@kerry

I would also be very interested to see how you got the nice looking terrain.

Still a beginner who needs help for my game.
holger
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 3:10 pm

Postby Godikt » Sun Nov 01, 2009 12:05 pm

Hi Arron,

Could you send me that link.

Thanks
Godikt
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:18 am

Postby Aaron » Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:20 am

Sent!
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby judy3t » Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:52 am

Hi Aaron,

Yes, please, could I get the exporter for T3D?

Thanks,
Judy
judy3t
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:42 am

Postby Aaron » Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:20 am

Link sent via PM.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby dEaThMaStEr » Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:44 pm

After some initial tests I'd like to start off by making a little request. Could you make it so you don't have to export a material.cs file? Or is this option already present?

The thing is, I have T3D material files of my own made so it's always coming up asking to merge the .cs files and the window to assign the textures, etc. All I need it to do is to assign the material names and export the terrain, all the texture handling is completely unneeded for me and really just adds extra steps to set the extra data somewhere where it won't overlap with my own. Unless there's a way to do this already?

Anyhow, doing some testing right now. My first test came back rather odd, my height scale seemed quite a bit off, everything being far too high. Will look into this more...


Edit: Heightscale is definitely off, seems to be about 2.9 times too high, at least that's the closest I could approximate it. I'm using an older build of T3D, downloading the latest version now, I'll do some testing with that.
dEaThMaStEr
Luminary
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:09 pm

Postby dEaThMaStEr » Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:35 pm

Tested with the newest version of T3D, still off. However I looked at the height ranges both in L3DT and in the log file for the export and I found something interesting... The exported height is approx 3.28 times too big. :P

I then tried something else which was make a terrain with a much steeper range that what I'd been doing. It came up with the message saying that the terrain exceeded T3D's limit of 2048 feet and asked if I wanted to resize the map. The problem with that is Torque's units is in meters, not feet. You have the plugin converting from meters to feet it seems.
dEaThMaStEr
Luminary
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:09 pm

Postby Aaron » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:00 pm

Hi dEaThMaStEr,

Thanks for your feedback. I've added an option to bypass exporting the material files, and I'm now working on the scaling issue. I did indeed have the exporter converting values to feet, for reasons I honestly can't quite recall. I've now removed this, but there now seem to be other scaling issues to be resolved. I'm testing now in T3D, and I'll let you know when I have a new build ready.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Aaron » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:42 pm

Hi dEaThMaStEr,

The updated plugin is now available here:

http://www.bundysoft.com/L3DT/downloads/plugins/bin/L3DTio_TorqueTER-bin.zip

To install the updated plugin, extract it from the zip archive and copy it over the existing file at:

C:\Program Files\Bundysoft\L3DT [version]\Extensions

The changes in this plugin are:
  • You can opt-out of exporting materials by un-checking the 'export materials' checkbox.
  • The vertical scale has been set correctly.
  • The T3D exporter now writes a stub mission file (as with TGE and TGEA exports), containing the correct SquareSize value.
  • The base texture DDS is now flipped correctly.

Here is an example of the output in T3D, using a 512x512 pixel terrain with a 2048x2048 base texture DDS, and no detail maps:

Image

This update will be included in the 3rd beta release of L3DT v2.8 in the next couple of days, once I've re-checked its scaling behaviour in TGE and TGEA.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby dEaThMaStEr » Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:20 pm

Ahh, much better. :D

Image
dEaThMaStEr
Luminary
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 2:09 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron