L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Performance

Any and all chit-chat regarding L3DT.

Performance

Postby Redrobes » Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:20 pm

Hi, I'm a bit of a newbie to this forum but I have my pro version now and I have been using it a little though I mean to create some bigger stuff very soon.

I'm creating a paged area which is large but not really huge and its taking a long time. I tried out the demo and it was very fast at making the smaller scenes and I fully expected it to take a lot longer when I ratcheted it up a bit. I have two questions.

a) How long does it typically take to generate the full size 128K sqr map ?

b) Is there going to be some upgrade point in the future to take advantage of dual core cpu's as my machine is 50% idle ?

Thanks,
Redrobes

Postby Aaron » Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:04 pm

Hi Redrobes,

A multicore version should be available for testing next year. I've multithreaded some of the calculations, but some are still to do, and much testing is required to ensure all the code is threadsafe.

If anyone wants to try multithreading (in Pro), go to 'Settings->Local settings->Calc->threadman->MaxThreadCount' (or something like that), and set the value to 2 (1 is default). This will work for:
* Normals generation
* Light map generation (but not shadow mapping yet)
* Texture generation (maybe only per-pixel land types; not sure)
I may also have done the attributes map and alpha map generation, but again, I'm not sure right now. More calculations will follow as time allows.

As for speed; off the top of my head I can't say how long a 128k x 128k heightfield would take to generate. The value would depend strongly on your erosion settings, but I would guess of the order of an hour or two. Disk-paging also takes its toll on multi-pass calculations (inflation, erosion, filtering), making them up to ~3 times slower. Single-pass calculations like normals, light map, textures, etc have minimal slowdown.

Cheers,
Aaron.
Aaron
Site Admin