L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

L3DT : Sky and Stars -- HOW TO ?

Any and all chit-chat regarding L3DT.

L3DT : Sky and Stars -- HOW TO ?

Postby fandaor » Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:11 pm

Hello all,

Sorry for my questions but I'm a total newbie in the domain and I just have bought L3DT in the perspective of using it with TGEA (and the MMO kit).

I am in the first stage of my project and I am terraforming every thing.

I have 5 questions that I am sure you will answer very easily :wink:

- Sky & Sun
I would like to know how it is possible to introduce a multi-layer sky and a moving Sun. What I would like to get is a simple but nice looking multi-layer sky, with about 3 layers, that will allow me to have 3 kinds of clouds that I could move at different speed and give a depth effect (and more realistic).
Same for the Sun, based on a "clock" having it moving thru the sky.
Is this possible with just L3DT, or should I better implement this in TGEA, or must I use another "finisher" tool to complete the scene ?

- Stars
Well it's about the same as the previous question : is it possible to have a specific skymap and make it move depending on the "clock" ?

- Buildings & decorations
I would like to use Torque Constructor to make my buildings. Is it possible to import them into L3DT or is the soft "only" for Terragen and I must use TGEA or any other soft to render all the datas in one ?

- Atlas
I have read that it is possible to create an Atlas to link zones. Again sorry for my newbie'tude but is the Atlas feature can be used within the L3DT viewer ? If I build a bunch of areas, can I browse all of them or only one then I should load the next one etc .?

- Weather - climatology
It is possible to define the weather in a zone, wich is really a great thing. My question : is it possible to make animation in the weather (ex. rain drops) ? And is it possible to define seasons in the project or should this be handled by the renderer like TGEA ?