L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

wierd black lines on terrain normals

Please report software faults here.

wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby wantafanta01 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:58 pm

i dont really know if anyone has experienced anything similar, but i imported a heightmap from WorldCreator, and everything seemed to work fine, but in the 3d preview i can see black lines running down the length of the terrain.. the satelite image looks fine. i exported the TN map and attached it so you can take a look.. oh and if it matters, the heightmap was originally 1025x1025 and was resized inside of l3dt... im not sure if it matters but i thought id mention it!
wantafanta01
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 7:17 am

Re: wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby Aaron » Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:01 am

Hi Wantafanta01,

Thanks for the bug report. Could you please post a screenshot of the 3D view? That would really help in working out what has gone wrong here. Also, if possible, could you e-mail me the heightmap file for testing? (to aaron@bundysoft.com).

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby wantafanta01 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:10 pm

sure, does the format of the heightfield matter? i was exporting from world creator using the .ter format
wantafanta01
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 7:17 am

Re: wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby Aaron » Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:43 pm

TER is great.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby wantafanta01 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:23 pm

email sent
wantafanta01
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2014 7:17 am

Re: wierd black lines on terrain normals

Postby Aaron » Thu Oct 16, 2014 12:39 pm

Hi wantafanta01,

Sorry for the delay, and for the inconvenience of this fault. There was a bug in the normal map generator in the version you're using. You'll find an updated build on the Pro downloads page that will fix this problem (the link is in your sales/registration receipt e-mail).

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests