L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Lots of 'CMapWrap::SetPixel' errors when making heightfield

Please report software faults here.

Lots of 'CMapWrap::SetPixel' errors when making heightfield

Postby mauronen » Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:35 pm

Hi Aaron

When making heightfields i've received tons of this messages.

It seems like Lots of 'CMapWrap::GetPixel' errors when making a heightfield marked in the Bug Lists.

My systems are:
- an IBM ThinkPad R50 1024MB RAM WinXP PRO SP2
- an IBM xSeries 226 Pentium Xeon Dual Core 2048MB RAM Win2003
User avatar
mauronen
Doyen
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Rome

Re: Lots of 'CMapWrap::SetPixel' errors when making heightfi

Postby Aaron » Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:07 pm

Mi Mauronen,

Bugger. This sounds to me like another problem with the progress display. Did L3DT continue and finish what it was doing, or did it bomb-out or otherwise fail?

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby mauronen » Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:22 pm

L3DT continue and finish safely.
Maybe it's another progress display.
It seems to appear when L3DT process the edge of the design map (up, left and right)

My map is not square but is 103x115 tiles with HF resolution of 100m.
Cheers Aaron.

P.S. My name is Mauro. Mauronen sounds like finnish man. I'm italian.
User avatar
mauronen
Doyen
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:06 am
Location: Rome

Postby Rofar » Thu Jan 26, 2006 12:36 am

I get these messages too but it doesn't appear to reallly bother the process. Results seem fine.
Rofar
Luminary
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:48 pm
Location: South Carolina

Postby Aaron » Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:59 am

Okay, thanks Mauro and Rofar. It definitely sounds like a problem with the progress display window. I'll have a look into it.

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby DeathTwister » Sat Feb 04, 2006 1:09 pm

Yawn,

Hay there all, feeling better and yes, I have the same trouble with that getPixel' errors. pretty much does the same thing and seems to work ok afterward. Not sure what will happen though when I try and export to TSE. I plan to test that this weekend if I get the time. I was going to post this but ya got here first /smiles.

DeathTwister
User avatar
DeathTwister
Dearly missed
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:30 pm
Location: Klamath, CA.

Postby geoadel » Wed Apr 26, 2006 3:46 pm

I am having the same problem, too. But for me it is a showstopping bug because it will not finish ever, the "time remaining" keeps increasing. Interestingly, clicking on "clear log" seems to let the time become shorter.

The problem first appears while preparing the heightfield for inflation(5).

As my log is also increasing in a rate of about one kilobyte per second, I will post just the first lines here :shock:

Code: Select all
L3DT session commenced at 17:36:22 on 26-04-2006
CMapWrap::InitMap error
 - invalid map size

CMapWrap::SetPixel error
 - map not initialised


The error is repeating forever it seems and also the progress bar is showing no progress.

After about 6 minutes, the log is sized 653 kb 8) and the time remaining has risen to 23 hours.

If there is some more I can provide to help you eliminate this problem, just tell me :D



Ah, forgot some things:
Here are my system specs
WinXp, Athlon XP 64, 1024 MB RAM

The error is reproducible with the same map. The design-map-size is
64*64 and it was created blank and then drawn within the program by hand.
geoadel
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 3:26 pm

Postby Aaron » Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:27 am

Hi geoadel,

Thankyou for the bug-report.

The error you're seeing is a different problem, I'm afraid. Specifically, the "CMapWrap::InitMap error" means a map in the inflation algorithm couldn't be created, and I'm not quite sure why (looking into it now). The reason you're getting millions of SetPixel errors (12 million, to be precise) is because the 'Inflate' routine didn't have proper error-checking on the InitMap and SetPixel calls...[tap tap tap, compile]...but it does now (for beta2).

Oh, hang-on...didn't I only send your Pro key today? Does this mean you got this error using the L3DT standard edition? L3DT SE is slightly knobbled and doesn't support 64x64 design-maps (32x32 is the limit), so it was supposed to fail in this case - though with a nicer error message. Some more tweaking for v2.4 beta2.

Cheers,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron