L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

It doesn't hurt to ask...

Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby David Walters » Tue May 10, 2016 9:30 am

I'm pretty sure this isn't possible in the latest build, apologies if there's an option I'm missing.

I'd like to be able to apply a simple constant offset to all values in a heightfield. For example I'd like to lower my whole map evenly by 100m.

I do see there's a "vertical range" option and maybe it can do what I want but it looks to be more about changing the scale and proportion of the map and seems overcomplicated for the simple addition I'd like to do.

I feel there's merit in a having a much simpler friendly tool. Perhaps "Operations > Heightfield > Apply vertical offset ..." which opens a simple value entry box (with "raise"/"lower" radio buttons for extra user experience points ;-) )

edit: Perhaps extend it to "Apply vertical scale and offset" that performs a 'multiply then add' operation instead, to make a more comprehensive tool?
David Walters
Doyen
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:10 pm

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby Aaron » Wed May 11, 2016 1:41 pm

Hi David,

Thanks for the request. I'm not sure how I managed to overlook basic height addition and multiplication options in the menu (they're available as scripting functions and graph filters, but not menu items. huh.) I have added these options to the next build.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby David Walters » Wed May 11, 2016 4:08 pm

Great, thanks for the speedy response !
David Walters
Doyen
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:10 pm

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby LauraEss1957 » Mon May 16, 2016 11:08 pm

YES! I NEED this! It would simplify importing heightfields from OpenSim enormously. Am downloading the release candidate now.

Oh, hasn't been added yet. Am disappointed.
User avatar
LauraEss1957
Contributing member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:31 am
Location: Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby Aaron » Tue May 17, 2016 10:11 am

Hi David and Laura,

Sorry for the delay. The update is now available on the Pro downloads page. It's L3DT Pro 16.05 build 3. Please let me know if you find any problems.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby David Walters » Tue May 17, 2016 10:07 pm

Thanks, but erm, am I just being blind or is this not available in dev 3 ?

Image

No worries if it's not there / sorry I'm looking in the wrong place - but I just thought you should know ! :D

- David
David Walters
Doyen
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:10 pm

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby LauraEss1957 » Tue May 17, 2016 10:24 pm

Took me a while to find them under Scripts > More scripts... but it works well. I see there's a Mosaic Tile loader in there as well! :)

Image
User avatar
LauraEss1957
Contributing member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:31 am
Location: Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby Aaron » Wed May 18, 2016 12:45 pm

Hello again,

Sorry for the missing menu items. They should be in L3DT Pro 16.05 build 4, on the Pro downloads page now. I had seemingly forgotten to add the menu extension scripts to the installer. Here's what the heightfield menu should now look like:

hf_menu.png


The 'Add height' and 'Multiply' options are the ones relevant to this thread.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3687
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Apply constant +/- offset to a heightfield

Postby LauraEss1957 » Wed May 18, 2016 9:30 pm

Thanks very much for this. I'm excited about the other options as well (whatever will "clamp" do?)! Will these options apply only to the whole heightfield or can you select an area and apply them only in that? I guess I should download the new version and find out.
User avatar
LauraEss1957
Contributing member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:31 am
Location: Hunter Valley, Australia


Return to Feature requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron