L3DT users' community
Large 3D terrain generator

3d lock up on laptop

Please report software faults here.

3d lock up on laptop

Postby sonnyc » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:10 am

I have just installed torque 3d Pro on both my Laptop and desktop. The desktop ( HP quad cor 2.0 ,AMD processor,5 gigs ram,nivda 240 1 gig video card) runs fine .
The laptop ( Alienware m17x i7 quad core.16 gigs of ram,nivida 460m 1.5 gig video card) Lock up as soon as I try to view a height map in 3d. I also installed the standard verison on both with the same results. Runs great on the desktop,locks up on the laptop. I will submitt the log to the link you provide.

Thanks
sonnyc
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: 3d lock up on laptop

Postby Aaron » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:21 pm

Hi Sonnyc,

This sounds like an OpenGL driver problem on your laptop. Please follow the instructions on this page:

http://www.bundysoft.com/wiki/doku.php? ... leshooting

Please let me know how it goes.

Cheerio,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: 3d lock up on laptop

Postby sonnyc » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:25 pm

Thanks for the quick response. It tuns out it's windows 7 .I disabled to visual themes and run as administrator and it seems to be working ok now .

Thanks for the help

Sonnyc
sonnyc
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: 3d lock up on laptop

Postby Aaron » Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:52 pm

Hi Sonnyc,

Many users run L3DT on Windows 7 without problems (with themes enabled and without 'run as admin'). However, some OpenGL graphics drivers written for Windows 7 are unstable or incomplete, and can cause crashes, lock-ups or other glitches. A driver update usually does the trick.

Best regards,
Aaron.
User avatar
Aaron
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3691
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia


Return to Bug reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron